Meet the Team

We've assembled a team of people who collectively create a nurturing environment in which our children can thrive. We share the ultimate goal of enriching, educating and empowering the children who attend Thembelihle.


Message from our Chairperson
Dr Carolyn Hancock

Thembelihle recognizes that children are our future and greatest untapped resource. We further believe that through quality foundational education we can break the cycle of poverty so prevalent in our country. Through partnering with donors, parents and the community the School removes all barriers to education for vulnerable children between the ages of 3 and 14 by providing their families with financial and social support. Our unique, holistic educational model rooted in Christian values, along with our dedicated and committed Board, teachers and staff, inspire each child to reach their full potential so that their futures are filled with unlimited opportunity. Our holistic interventions ensure each child’s ability to develop into critical and creative thinkers with our academic focus on Science, Maths, Technology, English and the Arts. All our children are all involved with sports and extracurricular activities as well as environmental awareness programs. To ensure the mental and physical well-being of our children, they have access to a dedicated a social worker and professional nurse and receive a healthy meal daily.

School Principal

We are in the process of finding a new principal who is the perfect fit for our school and the values we embody.

Thembelihle Staff 2020


Mrs Kilian
Miss Memela
Miss Mnikathi
Mrs Purdon

Support Staff
Ms Mbili
Ms Ndlovu
Mrs Ntinga
Mrs Jones
Mr Majozi

Miss L Mkhize

Pre Primary Educators
Grade R - Miss Odell
Grade RR - Ms Khambule
Grade RRR - Ms Mtshali

Junior Primary
Grade 1a - Mrs Henry
Grade 1b - Miss Khan
Grade 2a - Miss Barnard
Grade 2b - Miss Keel
Grade 3a - Ms Makhathini
Grade 3b - Miss Larsen

Senior Primary
Grade 4 - Mrs Hwata
Grade 5 - Mr Radebe
Grade 6 - Ms Msebele
Grade 7 - Mr Nyoni

Subject Educators
Miss Zondi
Miss Dlamini
Mrs Cameron
Ms Mncube

Thembelihle Board 2020


Dr Carolyn Hancock (Chairperson)
Rev John Stack (Deputy Chairperson
Mr Mike Clark (Treasurer)


Principal - Vacant
Mr Ronnie Ndlovu (Parent representative)


Mrs Sthembile Masondo (Parent representative)
Mrs Diana Coke (Member assigned by HMC)
Mr Hugh Queener (Member assigned by CUSP)
Mrs Alison Gossett (Member assigned by BUMC)
Mr Andrew Blades (Thembelihle and Angels Care Trust)
Rev Gert Lombard (Resident Minister)
Keryn House (Additional Member)